Distribution of B.Sc. Part II CEMA Practical Examination,2016, WBSU; Sarojini Naidu College for Women Centre

The Department of Chemistry was established in 1956. The courses offered were I.Sc. and B.Sc. Pass course. With the introduction of XI and XII since 1978, courses offered were XI, XII, B.Sc (Pass Course). In 1996, Honours Course in Chemistry was introduced in this college. At present, B.Sc (Hobs) and General course in Chemistry are taught. There are six permanent teaching posts, for which four permanent teachers, two Permanent Part Time teachers and four guest lecturers are members of this department along with four non-teaching members. Most of the teachers are engaged in research activities and publishing regularly in reputed journals. Along with day to day classes students also take part in other academic activities eg., participating in seminars, presenting posters, presentation of lectures etc.

Departmental Achievements:  B.Sc. third year Chemistry (Hons) students were awarded second position in Poster competition titled ‘Green Chemistry’ in 2013

Teaching Staff

Dr. Sudeshna Chatterjee Associate Professor More »
Dr. Shampa Mondal Associate Professor More »
Dr. Chaitali Biswas Assistant Professor More »
Dr. Mrityunjoy Datta
Assistant Professor
More »
Dr. Sagarika Sanyal
Approved PTT
More »
Prof. Sucharita Joardar Guest Lecturer More »

Supporting Staff

Smt. Sipra Dutta Lab Attendant
Sri Sashanka Giri Lab Attendant
Sri Swapan Kr. Chowdhury Lab Attendant
Smt. Paramita Dasgupta Lab Attendant
Smt. Sanjana Podder Contractual Lab Attendant

Academic Resources: University Question papers