Sarojini Naidu College for Women

Affiliated to West Bengal State University

Govt Sponsored, Estd. 1956, UGC

NAAC Re-accredited with Grade "A" (3rd Cycle)

Logo Logo


About the DepartmentFaculty

The Department of Philosophy offers Philosophy both as Honours and General Course.
The Department of Philosophy has been existed since the inception of the college in 1956. Initially there were three teaching staff who ran the department. In keeping with demand of the subject among the students, the teachers strength was increased to four in the year 1960 and five in 1970. However, with effect from 2001, the fifth post of lecturer has been abandoned. Now, the department has been running by four full time teaching staff. It will be worthwhile to mention about some of our past eminent Lecturers in philosophy namely, Prof. Karuna Bhattacharya, Prof. Rama Bose, Prof. Namita Sen, Prof. Ira Sengupta, Prof. Renuka Das, Prof. Sukla Kanungo, Prof. Sunanda Chatterjee, Prof. madhumita Chatterjee, Prof. Madhuchanda sen, Prof. Shubhra Chakraborty and Prof. Rubi Das Chakraborty who had contributed and developed the department to present stature. Apart from being a lecturer in S.N.C.W. Prof.Karuna Bhattacharya was also a part-Time lecturer of R.B.U . Later she joined the post of Pro. V.C. in finance at University of Calcutta, Prof. Sunanda Chatterjee took the responsibility of Teacher–in–Charge of this college and even after her retirement she served for the benefit of college as a Coordinator of NSOU wing of this college till her last breath. The department has maintained a tradition of repute for its brilliant performance in university examinations. This can be well explained by the extraordinary performance of the students since the 90’s. Some of them are mentioned below.
In 1997, Soma Chakraborty – 4th position in B.A Examination –Part – II
In 1998, Somdatta Ghosh and Indarni Chakraborty First class First and First class third in B.A. Part III Examination, in 1999, Aditi Mitra 4th Position in B.A Part II Examination – Part-II in 2004, Pratima Pal First Class Fourth in B.A Part-II Examination in 1998.
Our students have not only excelled in graduation but they have also proved themselves in higher studies. Arpita Kanjilal is one of them. After completion of M.A. and M.Phil, at present, she is an Assistant Professor of Philosophy at Hooghly Mahashin College. Moreover, there are many other ex-Students of this department who are employed in different spheres, same as lecturers in colleges like Dr. Sukla Majumder, in Dum Dum Motijheel College, Dr. Aparna Das in Habra Chaitanya College, Lipika Dutta in Berhampur College etc. Some teaches in various schools. Apart from academics some of the students have excelled in extra curricular activities and have chosen that as a profession. Anusua Sur is one of them who has completed her Master’s Degree in Dance at Rabindra Bharati University after completing her graduation from this department. At present she is a renowned performing artist in classical dance and founder and director of Anusua Bharat Natyam Academy.
In addition to academics, the students of our department regularly participate in various cultural activities. All the students of the department along with the teachers celebrate Teachers’ Day every year. Students of the department organize a students’ seminar on this particular occasion and present their own seminar papers with great enthusiasm . Participation in several inter departmental competitions helps them to unfold their talents and hidden potentialities as well as enhance self-confidence.